[ Impressum ]

LiveCode ValidatorLib

www.Rozek.de > LiveCode > ValidatorLib
The "ValidatorLib" is a small LiveCode [1] "Library Stack" with a number of commands for the validation of required or optional arguments.

Download and Installation

The "ValidatorLib" is available as an unencrypted LiveCode stack and can be downloaded from here:
After downloading, just place the "ValidatorLib" in a directory of your choice - an explicit installation is not required.

Usage Instructions

The "ValidatorLib" has been implemented as a LiveCode "library stack" and must therefore be attached to a "MainStack" prior to its use using

start using stack "ValidatorLib"

Appropriately, this statement is executed in the context of a preOpenStack procedure of a MainStack.

Should the MainStack later be converted into a standalone application, the "ValidatorLib" must also become part of the list of "Stack Files" in this MainStack (this is easiest done by using the "Standalone Application Settings" from the LiveCode development environment).

Usage Instructions for mobile Applications

The "ValidatorLib" can also be used in mobile applications. However - and unlike for standalone desktop applications - it must then be included in the list of "non-stack files" and attached to the MainStack using

start using stack (specialFolderPath("engine") & "/ValidatorLib.livecode")

The list of "non-stack files" can likewise be found on the "Copy Files" page in the "Standalone Application Settings" of the LiveCode development environment.

Command Overview

The "ValidatorLib" mainly contains commands to validate given arguments. If validation is successful, the commands complete without further incident and the calling script may continue. But if it fails, an appropriate exception is thrown the calling script can handle.

Validation of optional Arguments

The first half of commands (those whose name begins with "allow") validates optional arguments - these procedures differ from the second half insofar as the given argument may also be empty. The commands are (in alphabetic order):

allowArray <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowArray ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or represents a numerically indexed LiveCode array.

The indexes have to start at 0 and end at n-1, where n is the number of keys in ArgValue. This convention has been introduced to ensure a certain degree of compatibility with JSON arrays - should your LiveCode array not fulfill this requirement, it would be better to use allowObject instead.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowBoolean <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowBoolean ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid boolean value. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowColor <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowColor ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid (numeric or symbolic) color specification. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowDate <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowDate ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid date specification. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowIdentifier <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowIdentifier ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized as an identifier (consisting of letters, digits and underlines - but not beginning with a digit) which is valid in many programming languages. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowInteger <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue]]


allowInteger ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid integral number.

If given (and non-empty), minValue specifies the lowest acceptable and maxValue the largest acceptable value for ArgValue.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowNumber <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue [, withoutMin [, withoutMax]]]]


allowNumber ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid number.

If given (and non-empty), minValue specifies the lowest acceptable and maxValue the largest acceptable value for ArgValue. If set to true, withoutMin specifies that minValue itself is not part of the allowed range, and withoutMax that maxValue is excluded, resp.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowObject <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, requiredKey [, ...]]


allowObject ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or represents a valid LiveCode array.

Any further arguments (requiredKey et al.) specify keys which must exist in the given array for allowObject to succeed (regardless of the values of the respective array elements).

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowOneOf <ArgName>, <ArgValue>, foreseenValue [, ...]


allowOneOf ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or among the list of allowed values (foreseenValue et al). ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowPoint <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowPoint ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid coordinate pair for a point. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowRectangle <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowRectangle ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid coordinate quadruple for a rectangle. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

allowString <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowString ensures that the passed ArgValue is either absent (i.e. empty) or can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid string - which actually means that ArgValue is not a LiveCode array. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

Validation of mandatory Arguments

The second half of commands (those whose name begins with "expect") validates mandatory arguments - these procedures differ from the second half insofar as the given argument must usually not be empty. The commands are (in alphabetic order):

expectArray <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectArray ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and represents a numerically indexed LiveCode array.

The indexes have to start at 0 and end at n-1, where n is the number of keys in ArgValue. This convention has been introduced to ensure a certain degree of compatibility with JSON arrays - should your LiveCode array not fulfill this requirement, it would be better to use expectObject instead.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectBoolean <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectBoolean ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid boolean value. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectColor <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectColor ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid (numeric or symbolic) color specification. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectDate <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectDate ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid date specification. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectIdentifier <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectIdentifier ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized as an identifier (consisting of letters, digits and underlines - but not beginning with a digit) which is valid in many programming languages. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectInteger <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue]]


expectInteger ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid integral number.

If given (and non-empty), minValue specifies the lowest acceptable and maxValue the largest acceptable value for ArgValue.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectNumber <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue [, withoutMin [, withoutMax]]]]


expectNumber ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid number.

If given (and non-empty), minValue specifies the lowest acceptable and maxValue the largest acceptable value for ArgValue. If set to true, withoutMin specifies that minValue itself is not part of the allowed range, and withoutMax that maxValue is excluded, resp.

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectObject <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, requiredKey [, ...]]


expectObject ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and represents a valid LiveCode array.

Any further arguments (requiredKey et al.) specify keys which must exist in the given array for allowObject to succeed (regardless of the values of the respective array elements).

ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectOneOf <ArgName>, <ArgValue>, foreseenValue [, ...]


expectOneOf ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and among the list of allowed values (foreseenValue et al). ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectPoint <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectPoint ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid coordinate pair for a point. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectRectangle <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectRectangle ensures that the passed ArgValue exists (i.e., is not empty) and can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid coordinate quadruple for a rectangle. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

expectString <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, nonEmpty]


expectString ensures that the passed ArgValue can be recognized by LiveCode as a valid string - which actually means that ArgValue is not a LiveCode array. ArgValue may exceptionally be empty here - unless nonEmpty is set to true. ArgName must be a syntactically correct, non-empty LiveCode identifier and is used to form a meaningful error message should an exception be thrown.

System Requirements

The "ValidatorLib" requires LiveCode 6.x or later, and works regardless of the operating system on both stationary and mobile platforms.

Dependencies

Internally, the "ValidatorLib" uses my "BasicLib" - when using the "ValidatorLib" it must therefore also be present.

Automated Tests

There is also a separate stack with automated tests of the "ValidatorLib":
When this stack is opened, the command performTests is executed, which is responsible for running the actual tests. In the end, the "Message Box" of the LiveCode development environment should appear and display the message

all tests passed

Otherwise, an error message with information about the failed test should be shown instead.

Known Bugs

There are currently no known bugs in the "ValidatorLib".

License Information

The "ValidatorLib" and its tests are licensed under a "Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Unported license", which essentially means that you may both use and modify them (even in a commercial context) - provided that your changes have been marked as such and there is a reference to me as the original author at an appropriate place.

                       
Have fun with LiveCode and my libraries! Creative Commons License

Bibliography

[1]
(RunRev Ltd.)
LiveCode | Create apps for multiple platforms. Quickly. Easily. Free
LiveCode is a development environment for both stationary (Windows, Linux, MacOS X) and mobile (iOS, Android) applications modeled after the legendary Apple HyperCard. A visual editor allows fast design of user interfaces, a programming language inspired by the english language allows even non-professional programmers to develop professional applications and the concept of "modifying a running program" simplifies testing and troubleshooting.

[ Impressum ]

LiveCode ValidatorLib

www.Rozek.de > LiveCode > ValidatorLib
Die "ValidatorLib" ist ein kleiner LiveCode [1] "Library Stack" mit einer Reihe von Kommandos für die Validierung von erforderlichen oder optionalen Argumenten.

Download und Installation

Die "ValidatorLib" liegt als unverschlüsselter LiveCode-Stack bereit und kann von hier aus heruntergeladen werden:
Nach dem Herunterladen legen Sie die "ValidatorLib" einfach in einem Verzeichnis Ihrer Wahl ab - eine explizite Installation ist nicht erforderlich.

Verwendung in Desktop-Anwendungen

Die "ValidatorLib" wurde als LiveCode "Library Stack" implementiert und muss deshalb vor ihrer Verwendung zunächst einmalig mithilfe der Anweisung

start using stack "ValidatorLib"

eingebunden werden. Zweckmäßigerweise wird diese Anweisung im Rahmen einer preOpenStack-Prozedur von einem MainStack ausgeführt.

Soll aus dem MainStack später eine eigenständige Anwendung werden, muss die "ValidatorLib" außerdem Bestandteil der Liste der "Stack Files" zu diesem MainStack sein (am einfachsten geschieht dies mithilfe der "Standalone Application Settings" aus der LiveCode-Entwicklungsumgebung heraus).

Verwendung in mobilen Anwendungen

Die "ValidatorLib" kann auch in mobilen Anwendungen eingesetzt werden. Allerdings muss sie dann - anders als für eigenständige Desktop-Anwendungen - in die Liste der "non-stack files" aufgenommen und mithilfe der Anweisung

start using stack (specialFolderPath("engine") & "/ValidatorLib.livecode")

in den MainStack eingebunden werden. Die Liste der "non-stack files" findet sich ebenfalls auf der Seite "Copy Files" in den "Standalone Application Settings" der LiveCode-Entwicklungsumgebung.

Funktionsübersicht

Die "ValidatorLib" enthält vor allem Kommandos zur Validierung mitgegebener Argumente. Ist die Validierung erfolgreich, laufen die Kommandos ohne weitere Vorkommnisse durch und das aufrufende Skript kann fortgesetzt werden. Schlägt sie aber fehl, wird eine entsprechende Ausnahme geworfen, die das rufende Skript verarbeiten kann.

Validierung optionaler Argumente

Die erste Hälfte der Kommandos (diejenigen, deren Name mit "allow" beginnt) validiert optionale Argumente - von der zweiten Hälfte unterschieden sich diese Prozeduren dadurch, dass das übergebene Argument auch empty sein darf. Die Kommandos sind (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

allowArray <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowArray stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder ein numerisch indiziertes LiveCode-Array darstellt.

Die Indizes müssen bei 0 beginnen und bei n-1 enden, wobei n die Anzahl der Schlüssel in ArgValue darstellt. Diese Konvention wurde eingeführt, um eine gewisse Kompatibilität mit JSON-Arrays sicherzustellen - sollte Ihr LiveCode Array diese Forderung nicht erfüllen, wäre es besser, auf allowObject auszuweichen.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowBoolean <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowBoolean stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültiger boolescher Wert erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowColor <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowColor stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültige (numerische oder symbolische) Farbangabe erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowDate <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowDate stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültige Datumsangabe erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowIdentifier <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowIdentifier stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder (in möglichst vielen Programmiersprachen) einen gültigen Bezeichner (bestehend aus Buchstaben, Ziffern und Unterstrichen - aber nicht mit einer Ziffer am Anfang) darstellt. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowInteger <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue]]


allowInteger stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als ganze Zahl erkannt wird.

Sofern vorhanden (und nicht empty), legen minValue und maxValue die niedrigsten bzw. höchsten zulässigen Werte für ArgValue fest.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowNumber <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue [, withoutMin [, withoutMax]]]]


allowNumber stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültige Zahl erkannt wird.

Sofern vorhanden (und nicht empty), legen minValue und maxValue die niedrigsten bzw. höchsten zulässigen Werte für ArgValue fest. Hat withoutMin den Wert true, so ist minValue selbst nicht Teil des zulässigen Werte-Intervalles - auf der anderen Seite schließt die Angabe true für withoutMax den Wert maxValue aus dem zulässigen Wertebereich aus.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowObject <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, requiredKey [, ...]]


allowObject stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder ein gültiges LiveCode-Array enthält.

Evtl. weitere Angaben (requiredKey u.a.) sind Schlüssel, die in ArgValue enthalten sein müssen, damit allowObject erfolgreich durchläuft (der jeweilige Wert des betreffenden Array-Elementes ist dabei unerheblich).

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowOneOf <ArgName>, <ArgValue>, foreseenValue [, ...]


allowOneOf stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder einen der angegebenen zulässigen Werte (foreseenValue u.a.) enthält. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowPoint <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowPoint stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültige Punkt-Koordinate erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowRectangle <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowRectangle stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als gültige Rechteck-Koordinaten erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

allowString <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


allowString stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue entweder fehlt (d.h. empty ist) oder von LiveCode als Zeichenkette erkannt wird - was in der Praxis bedeutet, dass ArgValue kein LiveCode Array enthält. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

Validierung erforderlicher Argumente

Die zweite Hälfte der Kommandos (diejenigen, deren Name mit "expect" beginnt) validiert mandatorische Argumente - von der ersten Hälfte unterschieden sich diese Prozeduren dadurch, dass das übergebene Argument üblicherweise nicht empty sein darf. Die Kommandos sind (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge):

expectArray <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectArray stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und ein numerisch indiziertes LiveCode-Array darstellt.

Die Indizes müssen bei 0 beginnen und bei n-1 enden, wobei n die Anzahl der Schlüssel in ArgValue darstellt. Diese Konvention wurde eingeführt, um eine gewisse Kompatibilität mit JSON-Arrays sicherzustellen - sollte Ihr LiveCode Array diese Forderung nicht erfüllen, wäre es besser, auf expectObject auszuweichen.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectBoolean <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectBoolean stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als gültiger boolescher Wert erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectColor <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectColor stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist undvon LiveCode als gültige (numerische oder symbolische) Farbangabe erkannt wird. ArgName muss einsyntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectDate <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectDate stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als gültige Datumsangabe erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectIdentifier <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectIdentifier stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und (in möglichst vielen Programmiersprachen) einen gültigen Bezeichner (bestehend aus Buchstaben, Ziffern und Unterstrichen - aber nicht mit einer Ziffer am Anfang) darstellt. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectInteger <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue]]


expectInteger stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als ganze Zahl erkannt wird.

Sofern vorhanden (und nicht empty), legen minValue und maxValue die niedrigsten bzw. höchsten zulässigen Werte für ArgValue fest.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectNumber <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, minValue [, maxValue [, withoutMin [, withoutMax]]]]


expectNumber stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als gültige Zahl erkannt wird.

Sofern vorhanden (und nicht empty), legen minValue und maxValue die niedrigsten bzw. höchsten zulässigen Werte für ArgValue fest. Hat withoutMin den Wert true, so ist minValue selbst nicht Teil des zulässigen Werte-Intervalles - auf der anderen Seite schließt die Angabe true für withoutMax den Wert maxValue aus dem zulässigen Wertebereich aus.

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectObject <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, requiredKey [, ...]]


expectObject stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und ein gültiges LiveCode-Array enthält.

Evtl. weitere Angaben (requiredKey u.a.) sind Schlüssel, die in ArgValue enthalten sein müssen, damit expectObject erfolgreich durchläuft (der jeweilige Wert des betreffenden Array-Elementes ist dabei unerheblich).

ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectOneOf <ArgName>, <ArgValue>, foreseenValue [, ...]


expectOneOf stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und einen der angegebenen zulässigen Werte (foreseenValue u.a.) enthält. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectPoint <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectPoint stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als gültige Punkt-Koordinate erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectRectangle <ArgName>, <ArgValue>


expectRectangle stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue vorhanden (also nicht empty) ist und von LiveCode als gültige Rechteck-Koordinaten erkannt wird. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

expectString <ArgName>, <ArgValue> [, nonEmpty]


expectString stellt sicher, dass das der übergebene ArgValue von LiveCode als Zeichenkette erkannt wird - was in der Praxis bedeutet, dass ArgValue kein LiveCode Array enthält. ArgValue darf hier ausnahmsweise auch empty sein - es sei denn, nonEmpty besitzt den Wert true. ArgName muss ein syntaktisch korrekter, nicht-leerer LiveCode-Bezeichner sein und wird dazu verwendet, für eine evtl. zu werfende Ausnahme eine sinnvolle Fehlermeldung zu bilden.

System-Anforderungen

Die "ValidatorLib" benötigt LiveCode 6.x oder neuer und funktioniert unabhängig vom jeweiligen Betriebssystem sowohl auf stationären wie auch auf mobilen Plattformen.

Abhängigkeiten

Die "ValidatorLib" verwendet intern die "BasicLib" - beim Einsatz der "ValidatorLib" muss diese also ebenfalls vorhanden sein.

Automatisierte Tests

Für die "ValidatorLib" steht auch ein separater Stack mit automatisierten Tests dieser Bibliothek bereit:
Beim Öffnen dieses Stack wird zugleich auch das Kommando performTests ausgeführt, welches für die eigentlichen Tests zuständig ist. Am Ende sollte die "Message Box" der LiveCode-Entwicklungsumgebung erscheinen und die Meldung

all tests passed

angezeigt werden - anderenfalls sollte dort stattdessen eine Fehlermeldung mit Hinweisen zum fehlgeschlagenen Test zu finden sein.

Bekannte Fehler

Derzeit sind keine Fehler der "ValidatorLib" bekannt.

Lizenz-Hinweis

Die "ValidatorLib" und die zugehörigen Tests unterliegen der "Creative Commons Namensnennung 4.0 Unported Lizenz", was im Wesentlichen bedeutet, dass Sie beides (selbst in kommerziellem Rahmen) sowohl verwenden als auch verändern dürfen, sofern Sie Ihre Änderungen als solche kenntlich machen und an geeigneter Stelle auf mich als den ursprünglichen Autor hinweisen.

                       
Viel Spaß mit LiveCode und der "ValidatorLib"! Creative Commons Lizenzvertrag

Literaturhinweise

[1]
(RunRev Ltd.)
LiveCode | Create apps for multiple platforms. Quickly. Easily. Free
LiveCode ist eine (dem legendären HyperCard von Apple) nachempfundene Entwicklungsumgebung sowohl für stationäre (Windows, Linux, MacOS X) als auch für mobile (IOS, Android) Anwendungen. Ein visueller Editor ermöglicht den schnellen Entwurf von Bedienoberflächen, die der englischen Sprache nachempfundene Programmiersprache erlaubt auch Nicht-Programmierprofis die Entwicklung professioneller Anwendungen und das Konzept der "Modifikation am laufenden Programm" vereinfacht Test und Fehlerbehebung.